On Air

Country Show Presented by Bob Preedy


Rusty Egan ~ EFT

Presented by Rusty Egan

The Electronic Family Tree Radio Shows

Scheduled on:
FRIDAY 8:00 pm 10:00 pm
Rusty Egan

Rusty Egan

Rusty Egan has been a significant figure in the UK and European music scene for over 40 years. He was the DJ at Blitz, the influential New Romantic nightclub in London where he worked with Steve Strange from 1979 until 1981. Whilst there, he introduced Germany’s (Kraftwerk), the Japanese (Yellow Magic Orchestra) and British (Eno, Ultravox, Landscape) electronica /synthpop to the British club scene, almost single-handedly putting together the soundtrack for the New Romantic movement.

Rusty also owned The Cage, a New Romantic record store on London’s King’s Road. As Blitz grew in popularity he began to be recognised as a central figure in London’s nightlife. In 1982, he opened up the world famous Camden Palace nightclub in London, where he continued to spread and influence the development of electronica in the UK. At that time he was also a co-owner of Trident Studio in Soho, where, for a time, he switched to producing records for many of the bands he used to DJ, including Spear of Destiny, Shock, Visage, and The Senate

Rusty was also well known as the drummer for the British new wave band, The Rich Kids. Produced by Mick Ronson, they were founded by former Sex Pistol Glen Matlock (bass guitarist and backing vocals, occasional lead vocals); with Steve New (guitarist and backing vocals, occasional lead vocals); and fronted by Midge Ure (guitarist, lead vocals, keyboards), from their inception in March 1977 to their disbanding in December 1978. He continued working with Ure, and later collaborated with The Misfits, The Skids, Shock, and Visage. However, Rusty did not return to Visage for its reunion at the end of the 1990s.

On 13 June 2008, Rusty DJ’d at the ‘Big Top’, as part of the Isle of Wight Festival, an event he has appeared at regularly since. He won the category for lifetime achievement at the 2009 London Club and Bar Awards. Previous winners have included Richard Branson, Mark Fuller and Nick House.

In: / / / / / / / /